Golf Professional of the Year

Bill Flood, PGA

Ridgewood Country Club


Teacher of the Year

David Bove, PGA

Tashua Knolls Golf Course


Youth Player Development Award

Jennifer Barnsley, PGA

Race Brook Country Club

Bill Strausbaugh Award

John Korolyshun, PGA

Active Member


Horton Smith Award

Ron Beck, PGA

Fox Hopyard Golf Club


Public Merchandiser of the Year

Bill Rosenblum, PGA

The Ranch Golf Club


Private Merchandiser of the Year

William Wallis, PGA

New Haven Country Club


Assistant Professional of the Year

Josh Detmer, PGA

Wethersfield Country Club


Player Development Award

Vic Svenberg, PGA 

Life Member


Sales Representative of the Year

John Fagan

Wilson Staff

President's Award



Walter Lowell Public Golf Course Distinguished Service Award

Tashua Knolls Golf Course

Trumbull, Conn.



2017 Hall of Fame Inductees


Ken Doyle

Hop Meadow Country Club


Joe Paesani

The Bay Club


George Hunter

Deceased PGA Member


Ed Rubis

Deceased PGA Member



2017 Jack Kelly Sportsmanship Award

Mia Gryzwinski

Kyle Camello



2017 JGA Player of the Year

Mia Gryzwinski

Noah Straub



2017 Section Player of the Year





2017 Senior Player of the Year





Walter Lowell Public Golf Course Distinguished Service Award

Annually, the Connecticut Section PGA Officers and Board of Directors nominate all public golf courses in the section that employ a PGA Professional for the Walter Lowell Public Golf Course Distinguished Service Award. For the sixteenth consecutive year, the section will honor a public golf course for its dedication to the promotion of the game of golf.



It was announced at the Spring Membership Meeting at the Golf Club of Avon that this year's recipient will be Rockledge Golf Club in West Hartford, Conn. Rocklegde was selected for this honor based on an unwavering effort to make golf fun and accessible to all, the advancement of the understanding and application of the Rules of Golf, the enforcement of proper etiquette among its patrons, the promotion of the traditions and values of the game, and the promotion of Junior Golf programs. The award will be presented to PGA Professional Rich Crowe and representatives of the Town of West Hartford at the Walter Lowell PGA Tournament on Tuesday, May 31, at Mill River Country Club.


If you have any questions about the award or its process, please feel free to contact the Special Awards Committee Chairman Peter Pulaski or Sue Bell.


Past recipients:

2015  Richter Park Golf Course

2014  Willow Brook Golf Course

2013  H. Smith Richardson Golf Course

2012  Copper Hill Golf Course

2011  Alling Memorial Golf Course

2010  Stanley Golf Course

2009  East Mountain Country Club

2008  Shennecossett Golf Course  

2007  Tunxis Plantation Golf Course

2006  Skungamaug River Golf Course

2005  Timberlin Golf Course

2004  Tallwood Country Club

2003  Lyman Orchards Golf Course

2002  Raceway Golf Club

2001  Canton Public Golf Course




Table of Contents

1 - 2017 Special Award Winners
2 - Special Awards Nominations
3 - Past Special Award Winners
4 - Walter Lowell Public Golf Course Distinguished Service Award