Tournament Registration
  Remember me
Non-PGA Professional or PGA
Professional from another Section
Sign up now!
Forgot your password?




36th Connecticut Senior Open

Shennecossett Golf Course to host for 21st consecutive year

The 36th Connecticut Senior Open will return to Shennecossett Golf Course on Monday and Tuesday, July 16-17 for the 21st consecutive year.  This event has a great tradition and attracts some of the top professionals and amateurs from all over the country.

Last years event came down to the wire and was won by Connecticut native John Elliot.  Elliot won in a playoff over GREATHORSE PGA Head Golf Professional, Billy Downes.  Clifford Blanchard of Warwick, R.I., had seven birdies and one bogey in a closing 65, which was a tournament record in the 35th annual event and one off the course record shot by amateur Blake Morris.

Dave Szewczul of Farmington shot a final round 69 for a total of 144 (T12 overall) to share low amateur honors with Jim Romaniello of Stamford, who shot 72-72 (144).  It was the seventh time that Szewczul, the 2010 champion, won or tied for the low amateur title.



2017 John Elliot 137 67-70

Shennecossett Golf Course

Dave Szewczul/Jim Romaniello
2016 Eric Egloff 141 69-72 Shennecossett Golf Course Bob Kearney
2015 Jim Becker 138 67-71 Shennecossett Golf Course Dave Jones
2014 Jerry Courville 136* 68-68 Shennecossett Golf Course Michael Mercier
2013 Kevin Foster (a) 138 69-69 Shennecossett Golf Course Kevin Foster
2012 Jim Becker 138 68-70 Shennecossett Golf Course David Jones
2011 Lloyd Fisher 137 71-66 Shennecossett Golf Course David Szewczul
2010 David Szewczul (a) 140* 69-71 Shennecossett Golf Course David Szewczul
2009 Jerry Courville 144* 68-76 Shennecossett Golf Course David Szewczul
2008 John Gentile 140 69-71 Shennecossett Golf Course Greg Karakashian
2007 Ralph Salito 141* 70-71 Shennecossett Golf Course David Szewczul
2006 Mike Grigely 138 70-68 Shennecossett Golf Course David Szewczul
2005 Craig Kealey 137 69-68 Shennecossett Golf Course David Szewczul
2004 Kevin Foster (a) 68   Shennecossett Golf Course Kevin Foster
2003 John Gentile 141* 69-72 Shennecossett Golf Course Joe Polizzano
2002 Tom Joyce 143 71-72 Shennecossett Golf Course Charles Claffey
2001 Jack McConachie 138 68-70 Shennecossett Golf Course Paul Novak
2000 Tom Joyce 142 68-74 Shennecossett Golf Course Dave Stilson
1999 Mal Galletta 136 67-69 Shennecossett Golf Course Jack Bracken
1998 Tom Lupinacci 141 68-73 Shennecossett Golf Course John McCormac
Format changed from an 18-hole to 36-hole event
1997 Tom Gorman (a) 69   Torrington Country Club Tom Gorman
1996 Frank Eaton     The Farms Country Club James W. Sullivan
1995 Frank Eaton 69   The Farms Country Club Paul Veneziano, Sr.
1994 Doug Dalziel 73   The Farms Country Club Leonard Napoli
1993 Charlie Moore     The Farms Country Club Raymond Paradise
1992 Dave Pernell 71   The Farms Country Club Roger LaFluer
1991 Charlie Moore     The Farms Country Club Reg Zurinskas
1990 Charlie Moore 70   The Farms Country Club Don Madden
1989 Harold LaChioma 72   The Farms Country Club Larry North
1988 Don Hoenig 71   Wethersfield Country Club Dom Audia
1987 Don Hoenig       Bruce Hayes
1986 Frank Guerrera     Heritage Village Country Club Dom Audia
1985 Don Hoenig       Ben Costello
1984 Duane Haley 73   Farmington Woods Country Club Duane Haley
1983 Ed Rubis 73     Frank D’Addabbo

 *won in a playoff