SOUTH GLASTONBURY, Conn. (August 26, 2019) — Jim Hanlon of The Farms Country Club has been named the 62nd Golf Professional of the Connecticut Section PGA. The Golf Professional of the Year award is given for overall performance as a golf professional, leadership, service to his/her Section, the ability to inspire fellow professionals, and the promotion of the game of golf. Hanlon will join the 2019 Hall of Fame inductees to headline the Hall of Fame and PGA Special Awards Dinner on Sunday, November 24, at Lake of Isles, presented by Club Car and supported by Kirk & Matz.


“Jim has been a consummate golf professional,” said Section President Howie Friday. “He’s as deserving as any PGA Professional and one who has been admired for years by his members and peers alike.” He added.

Hanlon, who was elected to PGA membership in 1997, has served as head professional at The Farms for the past twenty years. Prior to taking on the lead role at the Wallingford club, he served as assistant professional at the Country Club of Waterbury and Race Brook Country Club.

It was at Race Brook under the tutelage of Frank Selva that helped shape Hanlon’s professional philosophy that he carries with him today. “Frank taught me that if I greet people properly, get them to the tee on time and with ease, make sure they play in a reasonable amount of time and show interest in their experience, they will reward me by continuing their membership at the club.”


In addition to naming Hanlon to the highest honor, the Section announced the following 2019 Special Award winners: Teacher of the Year, Michel Painchaud, Mohegan Sun Golf Club; Bill Strausbaugh Award, Tony Rowe, Rolling Meadows Country Club; Horton Smith Award, Ron Beck, Lake of Isles; Player Development Award, Josh Detmer, Go Golf Academy; John Dipollina, Youth Player Development Award, Golf Center at Lyman Orchards; Merchandiser of the Year (Public), David DiRico, Dave DiRico’s Golf & Racquet; Merchandiser of the Year (Private), Justin Foster, Ridgewood Country Club; Assistant Professional of the Year, Richard Bray, Hartford Golf Club; Patriot Award, and Philip Krick Jr., Mohegan Sun Golf Club. In addition, Jeff Dibonawas named the Golf Sales Representative of the Year.

# # #